Quilt Show Trekking Across the USA

Written by:

I’ve been quilting for a while now but last year, 2022, was the first time I attended a quilt show. Well, it turned out to be three quilt shows. All in the same month pretty much.

Quilt Show #1

The first was a relatively new outdoor quilt show in a town about two hours away from me. I wasn’t sure what to expect but the talent on show, even in the basic quilts, was simply amazing. 

I even managed to find a new friend for my sewing area. A Singer 99 from 1926. In need of a little TLC, she has become a welcome addition to my vintage sewing machine collection.

I thought this quilt was adorable. The little cat reminded me so much of my own two little monsters. 

As a fan of the Sunbonnet Sue block, this next quilt made me smile too!

Quilt Show #2

The next was in the closest metropolis to me. It was a lot bigger and was held in a convention center. I didn’t think it was possible to get so many quilts all in one area. One of the first quilts I came across was this one. A sweet cat holding a bone.

Entitled, “I Found This Humerus”, it had me in stitches. I was chuckling all the way around the show. When I came across more Sunbonnet Sue’s I was practically ecstatic.

It was a fantastic show… even if some of the quilts were starting to look familiar… like this apple…

There was a sewing machine at this quilt show too, only this one didn’t make it home with me.

This next quilt was possibly the saddest exhibit at the show. 

Apparently, it was entered into the wrong category and was disqualified… bit harsh… couldn’t the error have been rectified? 

I’m sure the quilter made an honest mistake but to be dismissed so abruptly… they must have been devastated.

Quilt Show #3

I didn’t take any photos of the third quilt show. It was held at a local college and the quilts were of a more personal nature. To take photos would have been an intrusion. Or at least that’s how I felt at the time. 

Anyway, you’re probably wondering why I went to three quilt shows in as many weeks. Well, it was all because of Sisters. 

48th Annual Sisters Outdoor Quilt Show 2023

Sisters is a small city in Oregon. Every year they hold the largest outdoor quilt show in the world. I have been wanting to go to that quilt show for years. Unfortunately, I’ve always been too far away so, going to three slightly closer quilt shows was my way of easing the disappointment of missing Sisters yet again. 

This year was different! 

The 48th annual Sisters Outdoor Quilt Show 2023 had a newbie attendee this year. I got to go to Sisters! To say I was delighted is an understatement. I was tickled pink. Even if going meant staying in a tent. On a campsite without proper washing facilities and a hole in the ground for a toilet. Accommodation – decent accommodation – sells out quick for the Sisters Quilt weekend! 

I even entered the Quilt Block competition:

My first-ever entry into any quilt competition.

No, I didn’t win. The standards of the other blocks were way higher than my newbie talents could match. But it was Sisters and taking part, seeing my block on display with the others… gave me quite a buzz.

To see more of the amazing quilts on show at the 48th annual Sisters Outdoor Quilt Show 2023, check out my video. I hope you enjoy watching it as much as I enjoyed attending! Hopefully, fingers crossed I’ll see you at next year’s show!

Bye for now

Olly

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases made through using the Amazon links that I include on my blogs and on my YouTube channel. This doesn’t cost you any extra but does help support me and my channel.

Like my blog? Help support me and my channel:  Donate to: https://ko-fi.com/simplystitchy

Follow Simply Stitchy on Social Media: 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OlwenWhite 

Twitter: @olwenwhite 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/SimplyStitchy/

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started